top of page

2020 General Primary Election information

Precincts will be open on Tuesday, June 9, 2020 beginning at 7 a.m., with voting taking place through 7 p.m.

All Absentee Ballots has to be back to the Elections Office on Tuesday, June 9.

Remember, if you requested and received an absentee ballot by mail but prefer to vote in person tomorrow at your local precinct, you have to take the absentee ballot with you to have it cancelled.

The early voting period for this year’s General Primary ended on Friday, June 5. According to Shea Hicks with the Board of Elections office, 1282 people voted early in the General Primary Election, and 4426 people returned their absentee ballots out of 6882 ballots that were mailed out.


Those who are unsure which voting precinct to use need to visit to find their precinct location. All 12 voting precincts will be open on Tuesday and include:


849-A County

Belmont Baptist Church Family Life Center

126 West Belmont Drive Calhoun, GA 30701


849-B Calhoun City

Calhoun Recreation Department

River Street Calhoun, GA 30701


856 Lily Pond

Tom B. David Airport

1957 US Highway 41 SW Calhoun, GA 30701


874 Fairmount

Fairmount Community Center

11921 Fairmount Highway Fairmount, GA 30139


1235 Oakman

Fairview Church of God Fellowship Hall

3050 Taylor Town Road NE, Ranger GA 30734


1063 Pine Chapel

Coosawattee Masonic Lodge #306 F & AM

633 West Pine Chapel Road NE, Calhoun, GA 30701


980 Resaca

Resaca Community and Recreation Center

330 Walker Street Resaca, GA 30735


1054 Sugar Valley

Sugar Valley Baptist Church

3742 Sugar Valley Road NW Sugar Valley, GA 30746


1064 Oostanaula

Oostanaula Baptist Church

157 Old Rome Dalton Rd NW Calhoun, GA 30701


1055 Plainville

Plainville Recreation Department

610 School Street Plainville, GA 30733


1056 Sonoraville

Sonoraville Recreation Department

7494 Fairmount Hwy SE Calhoun, GA 30701


973 Red Bud

Pleasant Valley Baptist Church

3882 Red Bud Road NE Calhoun, GA 30701


In addition to voting for your preferred party’s candidate for United State president and federal and state office candidates, there are several local offices up for election as well, and with no Democratic qualifying for local office this year, many of these offices will be decided on Tuesday.

Those qualifying for local elected office include:

County Commissioner, District 1:

M.L. “Bud” Owens (Incumbent - Republican) County


Commissioner, District 3:

Norris Sexton (Incumbent - Republican)

Robert “Rob” Ballard (Republican)

Bruce Potts, Jr. (Republican)


County Commissioner, District 5:

Kevin Cunningham (Incumbent - Republican)


Clerk of Superior Court:

Grant Walraven (Incumbent - Republican)



James Carver (Incumbent - Republican)

Ken Padgett (Republican)


Judge of Probate Court:

John “Richie” Parker (Incumbent - non-partisan office)



Sheriff Mitch Ralston (Incumbent - Republican)


Tax Commissioner:

Scott Clements (Incumbent - Republican)


County Board of Education, Post 2:

Jason Hendrix (Incumbent - Republican)


County Board of Education, Post 4:

Bobby Hall (Incumbent - Republican)

Rod Brehm (Republican)


County Board of Education, Post 6:

Christie Owens Fox (Republican)

Samuel T. Jewell (Republican)

Bryon Reeves (Republican)


Magistrate Judge:

Pat Rasbury (Incumbent - Republican)


Full ballots for all local, state and federal offices up for election, click the links below.






bottom of page